Seedling

Sitting quietly, our budding friendship between us
Fragile in its new greenery
I tell myself to wait, patiently
Until the stem strengthens
Before I breathe too hard on freshly sprouted leaves
My curiosity too loud
Not wanting to shatter this delicate existence
That has appeared between the cracks of my life
I resist showering it with weather that might strain

The bond of ephemeral connecting substance
Settling for the dumb little meanderings
That make up our everyday conversation
Holding the warmth that I feel against my heart
Hoping you feel the same
Too afraid to ask, to know the answer
The possibility that this might be one sided
Frightening and sad
What a predicament I’ve fallen into
Excited to see your words
Achingly aware how these tiny roots
Might snap or fray
Leaving me alone with myself once again

Without this green

Leave a comment